<% Response.Status="301 Moved Permanently" Response.AddHeader "Location","http://www.igourmet.com/shoppe/prodview.aspx?prod=2146" %> Product Reviews and Ratings - Finland - Oltermanni by Finlandia from igourmet
Buy the Oltermanni by Finlandia on http://www.igourmet.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Oltermanni by Finlandia image
 
(based on 15 ratings)
Located in: Cheese, Finland
Oltermanni is the first and only cheese of its kind, now available in the United States. A delightfully smooth, mild and creamy cheese with a tangy, yet gentle taste, Finlandia (its manufacturer) refers to it as a "Baby Muenster". However, we don't agree with that description. Whereas Muenster is typically thought of as a flavorless block in the deli case, Oltermanni is packed with a delicious buttery flavor. A Finnish favorite, Oltermanni's unique cylindrical shape is perfect for entertaining, making it a stand-out on cheese platters. It has fruity hints, making it a natural pairing for plums, grapes, apricots, or pears. Enjoy it with a smooth Merlot or Pinot Grigio.
  • Made from pasteurized cow's milk.
  • Suitable for Vegetarians.
  • Whole form is 1.1 pound.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 15 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Buttery(4), Creamy(11), Delicate(4), Durable(3), Firm(4)
Best Uses:
After dinner(7), Hors d'oeuvre(10), Melted(5), Salads(3), Sandwiches(7)
Describe Yourself:
Foodie(5), Frequent diner(4), Health conscious(5), Simple tastes(5)
 
We like Oltermanni
By mebjkbVerified Purchaser from Highland Park IL on 1/4/2009
Gift:
No
Pros:
Buttery, Firm, Flavorful, Smooth
Best Uses:
Great breakfast cheese
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Oltermanni by Finlandia:

Easy to plane, very tasty, doesn't taste anything like the Muenster that it claims to be.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Unexpected Tang
By Crafty SandyVerified Purchaser from Santa Barbara, CA on 8/19/2008
Pros:
Creamy, Flavorful
Cons:
More tang than expected
Best Uses:
Hors d'oeuvre, Melted
Describe Yourself:
Simple Tastes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Oltermanni by Finlandia:

I had this type of cheese in Finland and loved it. This is not quite the same flavor, but very close(a little sharper/tangier) and the only one I have found in the USA. I am delighted that Oltermanni is available here. We have it as an appetizer. Sliced thin with french bagette or crackers... or just plain; it is that good.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
WOW!
By mermaidvw from Monterey, CA on 8/2/2008
Pros:
Buttery, Creamy, Flavorful, Rich, Smooth
Best Uses:
After Dinner, Hors d'oeuvre, Melted, Sandwiches
Describe Yourself:
Foodie
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Oltermanni by Finlandia:

Fantastically good from the first bite! Love it for breakfast with a crusty warm roll and a cup of strong coffee. Also great with apples and grapes. My grandkids won't leave it alone...and they are verrrrry picky!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Cheese but size matters
By Johan from Northeast USA on 7/19/2008
Pros:
Buttery, Creamy, Flavorful, Smooth
Cons:
Size
Best Uses:
Hors d'oeuvre, Sandwiches
Describe Yourself:
Foodie, Frequent Diner, Health Conscious
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Oltermanni by Finlandia:

Great cheese (I am very familiar with it from "back home"). Unfortunately I was disappointed that the size is a fraction of the original size (as sold in Finland). The cheese (1.1 lbs) was approx 2cm high. It appears to be sliced from the original Oltermanni, which is at least 12 cm high (4 lbs?). Don't mess with a good thing. Let us buy the original size please!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent cheese!
By Happy EuroVerified Reviewer from Lakewood Ranch, Florida on 2/16/2008
Pros:
Creamy, Flavorful, Smooth
Cons:
High fat content
Best Uses:
After Dinner, Fruit and cheese platter, Hors d'oeuvre, On fresh french bread
Describe Yourself:
Cheesoholic, Health Conscious, Occasional Gourmand
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Oltermanni by Finlandia:

I have fallen in love with this cheese while living overseas (born and raised there so I had hard time getting satisfied with traditional variety of cheeses in grocery stores and most of online delis) and am very happy it is now offered in the US. As a health nut, I like the 17% fat version, which I am still not able to find here (however, 17% is certainly not as creamy as this one at 50 or 55% fat). This particular cheese is perfect on a desert platter with fruits or with a piece of fresh French bread and a cup of coffee or tea in the morning. It has a smooth and creamy texture. It’s often compared to Havarti, however, I personally think that it has a lot more flavor to it.

Because of the 55% fat content, it’s not something I eat daily, but it is truly a delectable treat once in a while. I am hoping that eventually, 17% and 33% will be available here as they are overseas. I often serve it as hors d'oeuvre for a casual party and it’s always the first one to go!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very good
By luv2liv from Moore, Idaho on 11/26/2007
Pros:
Firm, Flavorful, naturally lactose free
Cons:
none at all
Best Uses:
After Dinner, Hors d'oeuvre, Melted, naturally lactose free, Salads, Sandwiches
Describe Yourself:
love my food
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Oltermanni by Finlandia:

Used this for Thanksgiving recipes since several guests were lactose intolerant. Substituted very well for cheddar cheese.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
So YUMMY!
By J from FinlandVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, GA on 10/10/2007
Pros:
Creamy, Firm, Flavorful, Smooth
Best Uses:
On rye bread, Sandwiches
Describe Yourself:
Foodie, Frequent Diner, Health Conscious, Simple Tastes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Oltermanni by Finlandia:

I'm from Finland and have been searching for this cheese all over the States was so excited to find it [...]. This is a really versatile cheese, similar to other European farmer's cheeses. Don't be scared, try it! You'll love it!

 
Great with fruit
By RacieVerified Reviewer from Brewster, WA on 10/5/2007
Pros:
Creamy, Smooth
Best Uses:
After Dinner, Breakfast with fruit, Hors d'oeuvre
Describe Yourself:
Simple Tastes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Oltermanni by Finlandia:

There is flavor and it goes well with fruit. It is a good cheese to eat plain for a snack. This is an anytime of day cheese. It also goes well with a variety of wines.

 
Thank God you have this!!!!!
By Originally from FinlandVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, GA on 9/8/2007
Pros:
Creamy, Delicate, Flavorful, Rich, Smooth
Best Uses:
Hors d'oeuvre, Sandwiches
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Oltermanni by Finlandia:

Finally found the best cheese in the world!! Been living in the US now for more than 2 years and this cheese was the thing I allways missed about Finland (on the top of Sauna, lake, lonkero, etc...). THIS CHEESE IS GOOOOD, LOVE IT!!!! 99% like the original in Finland, maybe a tad softer.

 
Perfect before, after, or anytime
By Yankee CheesehoundVerified Reviewer from Connecticut on 9/4/2007
Pros:
buttery, Creamy, Delicate, Flavorful, Smooth, Subtle
Best Uses:
After Dinner, anytime, Hors d'oeuvre, Salads
Describe Yourself:
Chef, Frequent Diner, Health Conscious, Simple Tastes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Oltermanni by Finlandia:

Served at room temperature its smooth texture and subtle buttery flavors complementthe before, after, and anytime relaxation and nibbling!

 
It's finally here!
By JanVerified Reviewer from Tucson, Arizona on 8/24/2007
Pros:
Delicate, Easy to shave, Flavorful, Smooth
Best Uses:
After Dinner, Hors d'oeuvre, Melted, Sandwiches
Describe Yourself:
Like special foods, Love european foods
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Oltermanni by Finlandia:

My husband and I travel to Finland frequently to visit family and this cheese is a staple in many households there. It has a wonderful smooth texture and delicate taste and is great for any thing one would use a mild swiss cheese for ( as well as sneaking slices whenever possible)! We ate it every day while there and I am extremely delighted to be able to get here.

 
Oltermanni
By Walt from Alexandria, VA on 5/29/2007
Pros:
Creamy, Delicate, Firm, Flavorful, Pungent, Rich, Smooth
Cons:
Plain wrapping
Best Uses:
After Dinner, Hors d'oeuvre, Melted, Salads, Sandwiches
Describe Yourself:
Foodie, Frequent Diner, Health Conscious, Simple Tastes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Oltermanni by Finlandia:

I'm very glad that you have Finlandia Oltermanni.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Almost as Tasty as the Real Thing!
By Erika BVerified Reviewer from Wisconsin on 4/3/2007
Pros:
Creamy, Durable, Flavorful, High quality, Long lasting, Smooth, Tasty
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
anytime
Describe Yourself:
Foodie
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Oltermanni by Finlandia:

I was so happy to discover (a few years ago) that [...] was selling Oltermanni! When I was an exchange student in Finland we had Oltermanni every day with breakfast. I even got to tour the Oltermanni factory. While this cheese isn't quite as fabulous as the real thing right from the farm, it's darn close and I'm so happy to have it available here in the U.S.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Puts grocery store muenster to shame
By TrishVerified Reviewer from [...] on 2/28/2007
Pros:
Creamy, Durable, Good Value, High Quality, Melts well, Smooth
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
In cheese sauce for meat, Melted on veggies, On crackers
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Oltermanni by Finlandia:

This is the royalty of muenster type cheeses. The flafor is amazing and the versatility makes it a must have in my kitchen.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I Love it.
By JKVerified Reviewer from Oklahoma on 2/22/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Oltermanni by Finlandia:

This cheese is a staple in my fridge. I could not be without it. And it keeps a very long time.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2010 igourmet All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.