<% Response.Status="301 Moved Permanently" Response.AddHeader "Location","http://www.igourmet.com/shoppe/prodview.aspx?prod=313" %> Product Reviews and Ratings - Ireland - Cahill's Farm Cheddar from igourmet
Buy the Cahill's Farm Cheddar on http://www.igourmet.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Cahill's Farm Cheddar image
 
(based on 12 ratings)
Located in: Cheese, Ireland
Located in County Limerick and recognized as the originator of fine Irish cheese, Marion Cahill of Cahill's Farm has developed an interesting range of flavored cheddars. Using a base of tangy Irish cheddar, she has experimented with a variety of flavors and has come up with some very popular combinations. We offer three types of Cahill's Farm Cheddar: Elderberry, Porter and Irish Whiskey. These semi-soft cheddars are made from pasteurized cow's milk and vegetable rennet. Varieties sold separately.
  • Made from pasteurized cow's milk.
  • Whole form of cheese is 5 lbs.
  • We cut and wrap this item by the pound.
  • Please contact us if you would like to purchase the whole form.
  • Suitable for vegetarians.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.9 stars
(based on 12 reviews)
73% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Creamy(3), Firm(5), Flavorful(6), Rich(5)
Best Uses:
Hors d'oeuvre(9), Melted(3), Snack(4)
Describe Yourself:
Foodie(7)
 
Beauty isn't flavor
By Ambre, cookbook collector-book hoarder.Verified Reviewer from Sierra Vista, AZ on 12/11/2007
Pros:
Sweet floral
Cons:
Sour, very crumbly, Yeasty
Best Uses:
Hors d'oeuvre
Describe Yourself:
Foodie
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Cahill's Farm Cheddar:

I had had other flavored cheddars of this type. While this one looks nice, it's taste leaves something to be desired. There is a good elderberry smell, but it only tastes of a strong sharp cheddar. IT was very dissappointing overall. No character.

 
Porter & whiskey flavors good, wine not
By MKVerified Reviewer from Baltimore, MD on 12/3/2007
Pros:
Firm, Flavorful
Cons:
Wine flavor overpowering
Best Uses:
Snacks
Describe Yourself:
Foodie
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Cahill's Farm Cheddar:

I enjoyed the whiskey and porter flavors very much. The whiskey and porter accentuated the cheddar's mellowness and added complexity. The wine flavor, however, is overpowering and seems to bring out an unpleasant sour taste in the cheese.

 
Irish Ceddar with Irish Whiskeyt
By FAncy Nancy from Rochester,MN on 10/22/2007
Pros:
Creamy, Firm, Rich
Best Uses:
After Dinner, Hors d'oeuvre
Describe Yourself:
Foodie
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Cahill's Farm Cheddar:

I used this cheese for a "Tea & Cheese" tasting party.

 
cheddar lovers coment
By BobVerified Reviewer from Westborough, MA on 9/30/2007
Pros:
Firm, Flavorful
Best Uses:
Hors d'oeuvre, Snacks
Describe Yourself:
Foodie
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Cahill's Farm Cheddar:

Nice Cheddar with a hint of Irish Whiskey, Nice!

 
Best Flavored Cheddar
By Nancie GVerified Reviewer from Vonore, TN on 9/30/2007
Pros:
Firm, Flavorful, Rich, Smooth
Best Uses:
Hors d'oeuvre, Melted, Sandwiches
Describe Yourself:
Foodie, Frequent Diner, Health Conscious
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Cahill's Farm Cheddar:

Each of Cahill's cheeses are great. The only thing bad is that they are gone so quickly ;o)

 
Super Cheese
By PhyllVerified Reviewer from West Chester, PA on 9/4/2007
Pros:
Flavorful, Rich
Best Uses:
Hors d'oeuvre, Melted, Sandwiches, Snacking
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Cahill's Farm Cheddar:

We love the compliment of Whiskey with good sharp cheddar. It's great on its own or melted for a wide variety of treats.

 
good
By dolly from washington, dc on 8/10/2007
Pros:
Creamy, Flavorful, Pungent
Cons:
Crumbly
Best Uses:
Hors d'oeuvre
Describe Yourself:
Simple Tastes

Comments about Cahill's Farm Cheddar:

It had a good, strong flavor. I usually like to slice my cheese pretty thin, and that was kind of impossible to do without it breaking into a million pieces.

 
Cheese and wine together in one bite!
By Barbara from So. Orange, NJ on 4/29/2007
Pros:
Excellent Rich Adictive, Firm, Pungent
Best Uses:
After Dinner, Hors d'oeuvre, Melted, Salads
Describe Yourself:
Simple Tastes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Cahill's Farm Cheddar:

Every Prduct I have purchased has been GREAT! This Cheese in particular was outstanding. I just added some to my homemade Mac and Cheese and got RAVE reviews!

 
Too much grape, not enough cow.
By cathsfishing from pfafftown, nc on 4/1/2007
Pros:
Creamy, Rich
Cons:
Over powering wine flavor
Best Uses:
Hors d'oeuvre, Salads
Describe Yourself:
Foodie
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Cahill's Farm Cheddar:

I think the wine took over the flavor of this product.

 
A Real Treat
By DaveVerified Reviewer from Denver, CO on 3/29/2007
Pros:
Flavorful, Rich, Smooth
Best Uses:
Anytime Snack, Hors d'oeuvre
Describe Yourself:
Foodie, Frequent Diner, Gourmet cook, Health Conscious
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Cahill's Farm Cheddar:

The Elderberry wine flavored cheddar was a fantastic treat. Rich and flavorful. A taste that makes you want more.

 
Wonderful cheese
By PhyllVerified Reviewer from West Chester, PA on 2/23/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Best Uses:
Eaten on its own, Melted on bread or toast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Cahill's Farm Cheddar:

The whiskey is not sharp or pungent but instead has a roundness that brings out the best qualities in the cheddar. When warmed and melted it almost reaches nirvana. The graphic appearance of each slice adds to its appeal and makes it easy to create a delightful presentation when entertaining.

 
delicious
By fireflyVerified Reviewer from osan air force base, south korea on 2/22/2007
Pros:
High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Cahill's Farm Cheddar:

very good

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2010 igourmet All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.