Buy the Spanish Fig Cake on http://www.igourmet.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Spanish Fig Cake image
 
(based on 9 ratings)
Located in: From the Garden, Fruit and Preserves
This "cake" actually contains no flour. It is a traditional combination of dried figs pressed with almonds, walnuts and anise. "Pan de Higo" is often topped with a sliver of Manchego and served with a glass of sherry, making an unusual and delightful ending to a hearty meal. Handmade in Spain from a family recipe passed down from generation to generation.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4 stars
(based on 9 reviews)
75% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Flavorful(5), Healthy(5), Unique(6), Vegetarian(3)
Best Uses:
Gift(4), Snack(6)
Describe Yourself:
Chef(3), Foodie(5), Health conscious(3), Simple tastes(4)
 
Fig Lover's Snack
By Mr.BallVerified Purchaser from Clearwater,Fl. on 9/9/2008
Pros:
Flavorful, Healthy, Unique, Vegetarian
Best Uses:
Gift, Snack
Describe Yourself:
Chef, Foodie, Frequent Diner, Health Conscious, Simple Tastes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spanish Fig Cake:

I order these's all the time.Also try the date and walnut cake.Either one is a healthy snack.

 
delicious
By mb the firefighter from baghdad, iraq on 5/15/2008
Pros:
Flavorful, Healthy, Unique
Best Uses:
Snack
Describe Yourself:
Foodie, Health Conscious, Simple Tastes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spanish Fig Cake:

this product was delicious. i love the fact it has no flour. i didn't think the anise was overbearing and i liked the nuts too. it's actually quite a healthy snack. [...] thanks igourmet for delivering to APO addresses. i miss so many foods from home and your company makes it possible for me to have some organics along with other gourmet items. keep up the good work.

 
Can you say, "tooth ache"?
By msjane1226 from Lincoln Park, NJ on 4/24/2008
Cons:
Bad Flavor, Perishable, Strange Flavor, Too Sweet
Describe Yourself:
Foodie
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spanish Fig Cake:

Didn't care for this one at all. Way too sweet. Fig flavor got lost somewhere.

 
Nice snack for tea or coffee
By evac93rdVerified Reviewer from Conyers, GA on 4/19/2008
Pros:
Flavorful, Healthy, Unique, Vegetarian
Best Uses:
after dinner with tea or, Gift, Snack
Describe Yourself:
Foodie
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spanish Fig Cake:

This is simply anise flavored fig newton filling. While it is not something to snack on by itself it is great as an accompaniment to tea or coffee after dinner

 
If you like the taste of anise
By qanne50 from Tennessee on 12/26/2007
Pros:
Unique
Cons:
Bad Flavor, Too strong of a taste.
Best Uses:
Snack
Describe Yourself:
Simple Tastes
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spanish Fig Cake:

I do not like the taste of anise and I should have paid attention to the ingredients. I love figs served anyway, but the anise is just too much for me to stand.

 
Best Fig Cake
By Mr.BallVerified Reviewer from Clearwater,FL on 11/11/2007
Pros:
Flavorful, Healthy, Unique, Vegetarian
Best Uses:
Gift, Snack
Describe Yourself:
Chef, Foodie, Frequent Diner, Health Conscious, Simple Tastes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spanish Fig Cake:

I love figs, so it goes hand in hand that I would love this fig cake(AND I DO).I really like that it contain's no flour or additive's.If you love the healthy fig(and food from Spain)you'll love this.Also if you are Vegan, this is a perfect snack.

 
Great product
By 1409 Playbill Cafe'Verified Reviewer from Washington DC on 9/12/2007
Pros:
Flavorful, Healthy, Unique
Cons:
Delicate
Best Uses:
Cooking, Gift, Snack
Describe Yourself:
Chef
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spanish Fig Cake:

It make a great snack, dessert with soft or hard sharp cheese, and a glass of dry wine, or even cook in some sauce

 
Good but dry
By AllisonVerified Reviewer from Broomfield, CO on 3/5/2007

Comments about Spanish Fig Cake:

This is good, but I prefer a similar fig cake that I've purchased locally. The one I've bought locally is moist and has bits of dark chocolate. The one here is also good quality but different because it is much plainer and drier. The anise is extremely subtle and, despite the item description, there are no walnuts in the ingredients. This one would be best for purist fig lovers.

 
The only one I will ever buy
By food guyVerified Reviewer from MD on 2/24/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spanish Fig Cake:

I hope they have this brand forever. [...] carries a sad version that lacks the subtle anise flavor and fig richness of this one. Worth every penny.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2009 igourmet All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.